40 Apples in My Car

invitationI have been driving around for the past month with apples in my car.  At night the apples come inside with me and spend the night in the oven at a low temperature.  I’m working day and night to dry apples, or more directly, to make dried apple head faces.  I carved the apples to look like tortured shrunken heads, then soaked them in lemon water, and then began the drying process described above.  Finally, once they dried, I glued tiny hemotite beads in the eye sockets.  The results are phenomenally scary!

Surprisingly, 40 shrunken heads go very fast.  I have 4 left on my table right now, and at least 2 spoken for (Nick, Thomas/Merriann).  I don’t plan to invite any co-workers this year, so the last of the heads will probably go to my mother and to me (for preservation or whatever).  Wow, this party is going to be a big one!

No Responses to “40 Apples in My Car”

Leave a comment