Bats and Birds

batsnadbirdsMartha Stewart inspired my cutout bats, birds, mice, and dripping slime silhouettes (of course).  I’ve seen these for sale recently, but they are super easy to make at home, and far cheaper.  I use black craft paper, scissors, and my imagination to come up with the very basic shapes.  I place the cutouts strategically around my house for effect.  This year I may try to place them outside too.

Years ago, when we were trying to buy a house, a realtor visited our apartment in the spring. She couldn’t stop looking at the paper bats that were flying out of our fireplace, and I had to assure her that they were only Halloween decorations that I loved and couldn’t take down just yet.  She seemed a little scared. 

I’m much better than that now.  Decorations go up and usually come down within a week to make sure everything actually comes off the walls without damage.  In fact, one year I went so far as cutting out graveyard and picket fence shapes and covered all the walls in the living room.  This was before easy-off blue painter’s tape was common, so I had to repaint the room after the party.  Again, I’m better now.

One Response to “Bats and Birds”

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean


Leave a Reply

